operation: learn to cook southern food.

October 8, 2009 at 1:27 am Leave a comment

Let me preface this by saying that I am italian and was born in New Jersey.   Remember that before you judge 🙂

Tonight I embarked upon a mission to cook my very southern hubby a southern meal.  I got the brilliant idea during my lunch break today and proceded to ask my southern belle coworkers what to include on the menu.  the verdict: chicken and dumplings with biscuits and gravy.  easy enough, right? ha.

I am slightly limited in the kitchen, so foods that explain their components in the titles are good choices for me.  I mean, who really goes wrong with biscuits and gravy or chicken and dunplings? it’s like “lettuce and tomatoes” or “peanut butter and jelly.” 

Well- no one explained to me that biscuits and gravy did not mean pillsbury biscuits covered in turkey gravy.  In all fairness, the name of the dish should be “biscuits and mayonaise with sausage”.  I would have done better.  There is more than one type of gravy?? oh my land, I have alot to learn.

Moving forward, as if that was not enough.  I somehow created a picture of chicken and dumplings in my mind, and now- looking back, I am not sure where it came from.  I probably should have looked for a recipe, considering I have never seen or eaten chicken and dumplings.  I created a vision of some type of ravioli filled with chicken and dumped in cream of chicken soup.  wrong again.

I took the store bought frozen dumpling sheets and proceded to create my ravioli vision.  you should have seen josh’s face when I presented him with my creation.. priceless 🙂 I am pretty sure this is one of those stories that our grandkids will laugh at.  My cute man ate it all without complaints, hehe.

looks like it’s italian food for the rest of our lives.

Entry filed under: 1.

operation: it’s all about the benjamins.. baby. operation: skinny jeans.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


the girl.


...................................
I am 23 year old girl who loves Jesus, playing guitar and listening to James Taylor with the windows down.

Getting married at 19 has its ups and downs, but so does owning two dogs who like to eat socks and countertops for breakfast.

I am all about goal setting and making life easier, so I hope this record of my journey will inspire you a little :) growing up fast can make things interesting- but I love every tough minute of it.

this is basically a collection of all the things I don't know, and my quest to figure it all out. I am learning to navigate through marriage, music, my career, the laundry and my Jesus.. it should be a fun ride :)

The goal is to move forward and keep truckin'...

whatcha looking for?